HomeCallsL’ORÉAL-UNESCO for women in science international awards 2020 edition

L’ORÉAL-UNESCO for women in science international awards 2020 edition

Deadline: 12.06.19 Other calls

Created in 1998, the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science International Awards recognize and support eminent women in science throughout the world.

Each year, five Laureates are recognized for their contributions to the advancement of science, in Life Sciences or Physical Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Science in alternating years.

The 2020 edition of the Award will designate five outstanding scientific researchers in the field of Life Sciences, working in the following regions:

  • Africa & the Arab States
  • Asia-Pacific
  • Europe1
  • Latin America
  • North America

Each of the five Laureates will receive an award of €100,000.

One candidate will be selected for each of the five regions, the determining factor being the place of work for at least five years, not the nationality of the candidate.

Eligibility Criteria

The candidate must:

  • Be recognized for her personal scientific excellence among the international scientific community,
  • Be actively involved in scientific research,
  • Be involved in any field of the Life Sciences mentioned in appendix1,
  • Not be directly or personally involved in the For Women in Science Programme, as a jury member or otherwise, in any country.

For your information, there is no age constraint regarding the candidate.

Selection Criteria

The selection criteria of the candidates are the following:

  • The candidate’s outstanding contribution to the general advancement of science,
  • The impact of the candidate's body of work on the current state of her field of science (number, quality and impact of publications, conference presentations, patents…),
  • The recognition of the candidate by peers within her discipline through publications,
  • The recognition of the candidate’s commitment to education, teaching activities, mentoring etc., within her community.

The L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards are non-renewable.


Scientists around the world are invited to submit candidates for the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards.

To be considered eligible for an award, it is necessary to be nominated in writing by an eminent scientist. Self-nominations are not eligible, nor nominations from immediate family members. Teams are not eligible for nomination.

Qualified Nominators:
The right to submit candidatures for the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards shall, by statute, be enjoyed by:

  • Heads of Universities or Scientific Institutions,
  • Members of the Academy of Sciences or other National Scientific Institutions,
  • Holders of research chairs,
  • Permanent and assistant professors,
  • Past For Women in Science Award Laureates,
  • At a minimum, nominators must be holders of a Ph.D.

Nominations can only be submitted electronically through the online platform and have to be in English: www.forwomeninscience.com.
If new to the system, the nominator will need to create a user ID and password.

An application is considered complete only if it includes all of the following documents:

  • A detailed Curriculum Vitae
  • A brief explanation of why the nominator considers the candidate to be eligible for the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Award (200-400 words) and specify her contribution in her country/region
  • A list of publications and patents, starting with the most recent
  • The full text of the ten most significant publications in order of importance with: a brief resume explaining their significance (less than 200 words), number of citations for each paper excluding auto-citations and the impact factor of each journal
  • Three to five letters of recommendation from eminent scientists outside the candidate’s home institution.

Nominations that are incomplete or received after June 12th 2019, as well as candidatures that do not meet the requirements mentioned above, will not be taken into consideration.

Nominations are valid for two Awards cycles. Unsuccessful nominations submitted for the 2020 Awards in Life Sciences will be held on file and nominators will be invited to update their candidates' information when the call for nominations goes out (in April 2021) for the 2022 Awards in Life Sciences.

1Including Israel

Editor by DLR-PT Countries / organization: UNESCO Topic: Higher Education Life Sciences

More information

An Initiative of the


About us